Ask, Seek, Knock

Ask, Seek, Knock

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” Matthew 7:7 New International Version (NIV)

God is in the business of giving. Just like the scripture above says, ask and it will be given, seek and you will find, knock and the door will be open. All we have to do is ask and God will give it to us. He may not come when we want Him, but He’s always on time. Where we all get confused is when we ask, seek, or knock and God doesn’t give us the things the way we pictured them. For example, you ask God for strength. How else will God give you strength if He doesn’t give you a task where you can develop strength? How can you ask for patience and you are not put in situations to develop patience? For a while I would always get confused when I prayed and asked God for strength, peace, or other things and I would face difficult times after. I finally realized it was because God putting me in situations to develop the things I asked for. I pictured God just handing me patience, handing me strength, handing me an A on my test. But that is not how God works. God will give us what we need and open doors for us, but we have to do our part. We make one step and God will make the rest.

How can someone strive to be physically strong if they never exercise? God puts us through the same training. So, the next time you ask God for something be patient and trust Him, even if it doesn’t look how you pictured it, believe in him.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

